Tags

, , , , , ,

As we gear up for the June 2017 edition of the IIeX conference, let’s take a few minutes to get to know Amanda Marziliano, Ph.D., Manager of Research at Edison Research. This will be her first time speaking at a conference!

Why have you never spoken at a conference before?

I’m early on in my career, so I haven’t had the opportunity just yet. During my doctorate, I taught several courses and presented in various contexts, but I haven’t had the chance to present as a professional yet. Now that I’m more settled into both my position and the industry, I felt ready to take on the challenge.

Why are you looking forward to speaking at IIeX?

I’ve been working on Share of Ear for close to two years, and have gotten very familiar with it. I love to talk about it to anyone who will listen, and most of my friends and family are getting tired of hearing about it, so I’m looking forward to a captive audience! I’m excited to focus not only on producing and analyzing data, but on learning how to give a good presentation. I’d love to add this skill to my repertoire.

What worries you about speaking at IIeX?

I haven’t had to do any public speaking since I finished grad school, so I’m nervous about getting back into it—mainly about forgetting something I want to say, losing my place, or not being engaging enough.

What is the most intriguing thing you will discuss in your IIeX talk?

Share of Ear is a study that examines audio listening using an innovative diary methodology. I’ll elaborate on how we capture this data, and some of the most interesting things our clients have done with it.

What are you most looking forward to by attending iiex?

I’ve only attended academic conferences in the past, so I’m looking forward to attending my first conference full of practitioners, and meeting other people working on exciting projects. Academic conferences always energized me and helped me focus on my work, and I am sure that this is no different in the non-academic world.

Please join Kaylee at her session!

Share of Ear® provides new-to-the-world information about how Americans consume audio. While data exists on individual platforms and brands, before Share of Ear®, there was no single source that measured how Americans listen to all audio. Edison Research designed a study that would measure Americans’ time spent with audio. Respondents complete a 24-hour audio-listening diary that allows us to measure how much audio Americans consume in a typical day. It also measures the share of listening to various audio platforms, devices, locations, and audio content. Amanda will share the challenges of developing this new methodology along with some of the study’s most fascinating insights. Edison Research is know for its dynamic video presentations and will deliver data AND a show.
